General Category > Japanese Golf Gear

Graphite Iron Shafts : My Comparative Experience

(1/12) > >>

wmclarenf1:
So Iíve been playing graphite shafts for a while now which perhaps is a function of me believing (or wanting to at least) that they help an aging golfer coming back from an accident some years back to regain some distance with its lighter, shock absorbing properties.

Iím now so into graphite shafts, I donít think Iíll even go back to steel shafts in irons, not even light weight steel.  For me, the technological advancements in graphite shafts especially those with multiple higher modulus carbon full sheets combined with good wrapping methodologies deliver a level of consistency, predictability, dispersion and distance that steels shafts donít.  Maybe they do now as the last lightweight steel shaft I played was the NS Pro 750 (and that while good feeling, is nothing dispersion and distance wise compared to some of the graphite shafts I graduated to).  Not only do HMC graphite deliver quite a few performance traits I need, it also comes in mid kick options, something which not many light weight steel shafts offer and thatís no good for a higher launching flawed swing hacker like me.

QUADRA X52 SERIES

So my first serious foray into graphite shafts was with Quadra iirc.  I had tried some GD Tour AD graphite shafts before but found them boardy and lack of what I like to feel.  With the Quadra, Iíve played 852i, 752i and 652i.  The Quadraís are great feeling smooth shafts but not the best for distance and dispersion imo.  They are not bad, just not great.  However, for the money as some would say, they are very good value and coming from the company that supplies HMC sheets to the likes of GD, MRC and Crazy, they canít not be good.

FUJIKURA MCI X0 SERIES